Connecting to…
Connecting to…
Mormon temples, like the Mesa Arizona Mormon Temple, are Houses of the Lord

Mesa Arizona Temple


Temple presidents are called to oversee all activities performed at the temple. They serve voluntarily, usually for a period of several years. Following is a list of the current and former presidents of the Mesa Arizona Temple.
Temple President Years Served
President Kenneth M. Smith 2017–        
President J Brent Hatch 2014–2017
President R. Gordon Porter 2011–2014
President Daryl H. Garn 2009–2011
President Ezra T. Clark Jr. 2006–2009
President Albert Choules Jr. 2003–2006
President John R. Peterson 2000–2003
President L. Kenyon Udall 1997–2000
President E. Widtsoe Shumway 1994–1997
President John H. Tanner 1991–1994
President Nephi S. Allen 1988–1991
President LeRoy Layton 1985–1988
President L. Harold Wright 1980–1985
President Junius E. Driggs 1975–1980
President C. Bryant Whiting 1970–1975
President Jesse M. Smith 1963–1970
President J. Robert Price 1960–1963
President Arwell L. Pierce 1953–1960
President Harry L. Payne 1944–1953
President Charles Pugh 1940–1944
President Charles R. Jones 1934–1940
President David K. Udall 1927–1934
"We must build more temples, and we must build them more quickly. This is the season to build temples. They are needed, and we have the means to do so. The Lord will hold us accountable if we do not work with greater accomplishment than we are now doing."
—Gordon B. Hinckley

Share |
NOT an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints