Connecting to…
Connecting to…
Mormon temples, like the Salt Lake Mormon Temple, are Houses of the Lord

Salt Lake Temple


Temple presidents are called to oversee all activities performed at the temple. They serve voluntarily, usually for a period of several years. Following is a list of the current and former presidents of the Salt Lake Temple.
Temple President Years Served
President Blaine J. Wixom Jr. 2017–        
President Cecil O. Samuelson 2014–2017
President O. Claron Alldredge Jr. 2011–2014
President Sheldon F. Child 2008–2011
President M. Richard Walker 2005–2008
President L. Aldin Porter 2002–2005
President Derrill H. Richards 1999–1999
President W. Eugene Hansen 1999–2002
President Carlos E. Asay 1996–1999
President George I. Cannon 1993–1996
President Spencer H. Osborn 1990–1993
President Edgar M. Denny 1987–1990
President Victor L. Brown 1985–1987
President Marion D. Hanks 1982–1985
President A. Ray Curtis 1977–1982
President John K. Edmunds 1972–1977
President O. Leslie Stone 1968–1972
President Howard S. McDonald 1964–1968
President Willard E. Smith 1961–1964
President ElRay L. Christiansen 1953–1961
President Robert D. Young 1949–1953
President Joseph Fielding Smith 1945–1949
President Stephen L. Chipman 1938–1945
President George F. Richards 1921–1938
President Anthon H. Lund 1911–1921
President Joseph F. Smith 1898–1911
President Lorenzo Snow 1893–1898
"Prepare now for the temple, the mountain of the Lord. Never allow the goal of the temple to be out of your sight. Walk into His presence in purity and virtue, and receive His blessings—even 'all that he hath.'"
—Elaine S. Dalton

Share |
NOT an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints